The religious significance of Mount Kailash

  • Hemanta Budhathoki
  • Last Updated on May 26, 2024

Table of Contents

In the remote western Tibet, the holy peak Mount Kailash (6714 meters) dominates the entire region’s landscape. The celestial beauty of Mount Kailash is not only fascinating, but it is also the ultimate pilgrimage destination for four religions Hindu, Buddhist, Jain, and Bon from around the world. For all four religions, Mount Kailash is the spiritual epicentre. Every year, thousands of devotees make the pilgrimage tour to the holy mount Kailash for spiritual purification. Taking a holy bath at Lake Manasarovar and involving in three days Kailash circuit known as Kailash Parikrama are major activities of those pilgrimage peoples. Other peoples also visit the area to explore its beauty and high adventure. Reagon is especially controlled led by the Nagri government of Tibet. to Reach there, every foreigner other than Tibetan have to buy travel packages. A special travel permit and visa are required. The best season to reach there is from the month of May till the month of October every season. Special Kailash Tour is also operated by Nepal Highland Treks. Major and legal entrance points to Mount Kailash and Lake Mansarovar is from Lhasa Tibet, Kerung near Nepal Tibet border, Nathula via India, and Taklakot Nepal Tibet border. Adventure seekers also plan, Motorbiking tours to Kailash, and Cycling tour also operating in its best season.  
Mount Kailash and Lake Mansarovar
Lake Mansarovar and Mount Kailash view. Picture from Mansarovar area  

The best season for Mount Kailash tour is from month of May till month of September. Nepal Highland Treks is operating small group Kailash Mansarovar tour in best season. 14 Days tour stars and eand at Kathmandu Nepal. Entirely overland tour is more comfirtable tour with best availalbe accommodation in Kailash region. Send us email to get more information. Email:- [email protected]  Or whatsApp 009779851040871 (Mr Hemanta) 

The religious significance of Mount Kailash for four religion 

In Hinduism, Mount Kailash is known to be the abode of Lord Shiva where he lives with his consort Parvati and other gans. He resides on the peak in the state of meditation. Vishnu Puraan describes Kailash four faces that are made of crystal, ruby, gold, and lapis. The pilgrims do parikrama (Kora or Walking around Mount Kailash) in the clockwise direction starting from the South face. It is believed that doing one-time parikrama is equivalent to turning one round of wheel of life. The mountain is the pillar of the world and the entire universe is operated from this place.
Mount Kailash North Face
Mount Kailash North Face. This view is from Derapuk reach after the first day of Kailash Parikrama. 

Buddhist have a different name of Mount Kailash. Buddhists have named Mount Kailash Garu Rimpoche, meaning “precious jewel of snow” and a gigantic mandala. According to the legend, it is the abode of Chakra Samvara and Guru Rinpoche – Padma Sambhava, who brought Buddhism to Tibet and beyond... Mount Kailash is the major pilgrimage site in Buddhist traditions. This is the place where Buddha represents supreme bliss. It is said that Milarepa (Buddist saint) the only person of pure soul who could reach on the peak of Kailash riding on the sun rays. Like Hindus, the pilgrims do Kora in the clockwise direction starting from Yam Dwar facing south face of Kailash.
Tibetan Peoples in Kailash Parikrama
Local Tibetan Buddhist peoples at near the Dolma La pass (5,613 miters) in their second day of Kailash circuit, walk around Mount Kailash 

According to Jain, the first Tiranthkara – Rishabhdeva attained moksha (liberation from the cycle of life and death) at the mountain Ashtpad which is next to Kailash. He came here to gain knowledge and then wanted to go back. But after being touched by Kailash he left everything behind and decided to merge with the mountain.

Bon mythology holds that Mount Kailash is where the founder Thonpa Shenrab Miwo came down from heaven and spread his spiritual knowledge. They regard it as a nine-story swastika and a seat of spiritual power.

Mount Kailash cannot be climbed
At just 6,714 meters above sea level, the mountain is far from being one of the highest mountains in Tibet, yet it has never been climbed by modern man, and it is likely that it never will be due to its unique religious significance. Peoples who believe in Lord Kailash makes Kailash Kora also known as Kailash Parikrama. Kailash Tour can not be an individual tour. It should be operated by registered travel, trek company. For Indian pilgrimage, the Indian government is operating this tour in a selection based. Nepali tour company like Nepal Highland Treks is operating a Kailash tour every year from the month of May. Indian passport holders should join in a group due to the rules from Tibet and other than Indian passport holders we are operating a small group tour to Kailash.  

Hemanta Budhathoki

Hemanta Budhathoki

Hemanta Budhathoki is team leader of Nepal Highland Trekking and travel company. 

Call us on WhatsApp+977 9851040871OrChat with us